The Winning Side

Mark J. Janssen
4 min readMar 7, 2024

When we surrender in spiritual matters it means we join the winning side. This is no easy or simple concern. In order to be ready to surrender our interior pain we have to take a serious look at ourselves. It was when I was ready to see that my physical bones were fine but some of my spiritual bones were splintered that I could begin to heal. The point at which I was ready to let other people take my fractured parts and put them on a spiritual assembly line was the point at which I gave myself permission to begin to heal. Those people knew how to help put me back together. All I knew how to do was flail for help. At best.

As my soul healed with others’ love and kindness, I could see that there was something better coming into being. Something far more interesting and exciting than the life I had led.

My spiritual healers truly cared about my soul. They taught me how to free myself and love my soul. They taught me how to live life differently from what I had been taught. It wasn’t better than what I had learned as a child. It was different.

One thing I was taught was to listen with my eyes. Listen with both my physical and spiritual eyes. Keep listening with my ears, but listen with my eyes, also. Go beyond listening with my ears. When someone said something to me, watch them. Watch how they said what they said. Watch their behavior. Watch what they did. Look at their intent.

It came as a surprise to me that people do not always behave in the world the way that they speak. I expected others to be honest…

--

--

Mark J. Janssen

Mark Janssen is a Catholic Druid, mystic visionary and author who writes a weekly blog. His memoir “Reach for the Stars” is available online.